Skills For Learning

SFL stands For Skills For Learning, which is a lesson, delivered in years seven and eight. This lesson is a structured programme, focusing on how students learn, rather than what students learn. Having space in the curriculum to practise being better learners, will motivate students and help them to take responsibility for their own learning. The programme consists of 15 lessons, which are delivered through L4L lessons.

Students are encouraged to develop key learning attributes which are called the 6 R’s

  • Reflective
  • Resilient
  • Reasoning
  • Resourceful
  • Respect
  • Responsible

Students will be expected to use their planner to review their progress, by using the 6R audits. When students have shown the 6 R attributes in lessons, they can write what they have accomplished and ask their teacher to sign. The key vocabulary sheet in students’ planners must be ticked when students are confident that they can spell or understand the meanings of the words that are in the bronze, silver or gold column.